eennovwhy

because love can build a bridge of life

The Perfect Twelve Preparation ♥

I was preparing for bed somewhere late 2011, catching up on my tweets and blog reading that I realized that 12 December 2012 was probably the last perfect date before 2012 ends. So  I casually told J about it, and he suggested that we could choose that date to solemnize our marriage.

I thought he was joking, and then his facial expression told me that he wasn’t. He was dead serious. I laughed. He talked me into it, and I agreed, but it does not mean that he could skip the proposal part.

We went for our trip to Genting Highlands, and came back starting to look for venues. That was in January 2012.

Venue Searching

Our first option was Tanjong Rhu, our secret hiding place, our 老地方. We really wanted that place, because it held alot of memories. We had our first date there. But the place grew different from what we first experienced. So we decided to strike that place off.

Then, we found Gardens by the Bay – East. It was really beautiful – simply love at first sight.

Photobucket

After checking with NParks, I realized that its will only be officially open in June 2012, we can only book after its official opening. But that would mean 6 months before THE DAY. 12 December 2012 was anticipated to a popular date. And I know that if I cannot secure a place after June 2012, I would definitely go crazy!!

Brought our logistics personnel there to have a site recce, but apparently, it being a open space area, and December being a rainy season, I would have to get a wet-weather program for my event. Tentages, wooden-planking on the ground is definitely needed, and it would cost me a whooping $10,000. I have yet to include my food; decorations; gown and the various hidden costs!!! There was no way that we would afford such an amount for a not-so-lavish solemnization.

We moved on to our 3rd choice, The Riders Cafe at Fairways Drive.

Photobucket

We contacted Willa, the manager for Riders and arranged a meet up on 17th May to discuss further. Heard that there were other couples who wanted to book that place. but we were the first couple who approached them, thus we were given priority and sufficient time to make our decision. We made multiple trips down to Riders for further site recce, made tonnes of contact with Willa, checked the food, bargained for more benefits. Brought my mum, and sister down to have a look at the place before making the deposit. With a maximum capacity of 80pax to fit both our big families, we made the deposit of $1,000 to secure the place on that date. I was so afraid that we couldn’t find our ideal place for solemnization.

In search of the bridal studio

Went for the STYLE wedding Love Affair held at Marina Square. Didn’t have the intention to sign anything on that day. So we enquired with some bridal booths over there. I had no inkling on what to expect. All I know was to stand firm against the pushy sales personnel. So I did to Feline Bridal, cos I felt that they weren’t honest enough. And we move on to White Link Bridal. They gave us a irresistible package, and I hesitated although tempted. But  J stunned me, by asking their payment modes. There & then, I knew this is what he wanted, so I couldn’t care less and threw on the bargain-auntie Yvonne. I keep asking for more pictures, and more pictures!

So we signed it, and got another thing strike off the to-do list!! Quite a hasty decision thinking back. But I seriously cannot wait to to my gown selection! Counting down to 22nd September 2012.

So, who should I invite as my solemnizer, also known as, the Justice of Peace. 

I had wanted to hold a matrimony because I firmly believe in lighting up the unity candle and after pronouncing man & wife, everyone shall forever hold their peace. But the entire ceremony will be twisted if J could not understand the sacredness of such. So I ditched the idea, praying and hoping that one day, as we renew our vows, it will be held in such a Godly mannerism.

So I went on ahead to choose a Justice of Peace. I had wanted Dr. Phua initially since he is so famous in this matter. But seeing him in real person during CS & Hazel’s solemnization was really different. He was all jokey and smiles, in order to ease the couple. But he is so long-winded that a 15mins solemnization took up to 30mins. With all his wonderful advises to the couple in front of the guests, he definitely lives up to his name of the most famous solemnizer.

Sadly, I do not appreciate his long and precious advices. So I turned to Prof Yu Shi Ming, for my 1st choice of solemnizer. But sadly, he is unable to confirm with me as he has yet to plan his travelling period. So I went on to my 2nd choice, Dr. Ho Nai Kiong, a paediatrician. Since his job is to handle little ones, I assume that he is  super patient and super gentle.

Met him on the 2nd September to sign the solemnization consent form at Serene Centre – McDonald’s. My assumption was right. Dr Ho is very patient, and jovial. Both J and I were very comfortable with him. He brought some marriage magazines from Marriage Central for us to browse through and to read as well. I was instantly relieved. If anyone of you know J, he has far more exceedingly expectations when it comes to services of people.

Feeling super thankful that another thing is strike off my to-do list.

So who is Dr. Ho Nai Kiong? Well, check him out! ((:

J says that he looks like 月老, a synonym for the god of marriage and love, who unites with a silken cord all predestined couples, after which nothing can prevent their union. Does he? I did not really take a very close look at him while chit-chatting. Maybe I will feel that way, on the perfect twelve.

Next up, to decide on the people behind the lens.

The reason why people decides on using professional photographer and videographer is to capture the wonderful memories that happens during the wedding celebrations. Such pictures can transcend through time and be shown to our future generations. I would want to show my lovely children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren and so on and so forth.

A picture tells a thousand words, and just sitting down together with my husband and my family to relinquish our special day sometime down the road, seems to feel really good. Therefore, I have thus emphasize on the quality of the photographer without compromising on the price.

I got the then-boyfriend, now fiancé involved in confirming the minute details such as confirming the PG & VG.  We searched high & low, got recommendations from our friends, and met up with plenty of service provider. We have also decided to get some friends to act as our PG as well for a backup.

We met up with Wally of Wally Photography at Tampines Mall Starbucks, with my little girl in tow. Bus-ing all the way from Yishun to Tampines just for a non-obligatory meet up. How sacrificial, I thought. He made an offer, we considered. Went back home to further discuss about it, and we decided on him.

So I’m crossing my fingers, hoping that my photos will turn out pretty!

Next up, the videographer. While searching for the ideal photographer, I went in search for the ideal videographer too. I stumbled upon Idoproduction Wedding Cinematography. I loved Han’s works especially his multi-angle effect. So I got greedy, and got 2 videographers to create the multi-angle effect. The whole thing from the enquiries to the follow-up to the confirmation and the reminder went smoothly without a hitch. Now, I gotta arrange with him to discuss on how the entire rundown is gonna be on the perfect twelve <3.

Afterall else, we have to decide on the theme.

If you have been to Riders Cafe before, you know how perfect the ambience is. Actually, its good enough without any bridal decorations. Simple and elegant.

 

Leave a comment